gradient

Databases

  • Below is an alphabetized list of library databases.  Login with your library card number.
  • Click on the left-hand navigation to see databases listed by subject area.
  • For digital media, click "Download & Stream" on the top navigation under eBranch.

Academic OneFile (Gale)  A premier source for peer-reviewed, full-text articles from the world's leading journals and reference sources.  Extensive coverage of the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature and other subjects.  Includes full-text coverage of the New York Times back to 1985.  Updated daily.

Agriculture Collection (Gale)   
Comprised of nearly 200 titles, users have access to current and authoritative content on the industry -- from practical aspects of farming to cutting edge scientific research in horticulture.

American Ancestors  Searches various genealogy resources including, Massachusetts Vital Records through 1910, New York Probate Records (1787-1835), Social Security Death Index (SSDI) church records, city and town directories, court records, census records, and more.  In library use only.

Ancestry Library Edition  The most comprehensive online source of information for conducting genealogical research.  In library use only.

AskART (Limited use)  Contains a collection of resources on artists and their works including biographical information, information about Museums and art associations, art works for sale and wanted, galleries/dealers, and auction information.

AtoZdatabases  AtoZdatabases profiles over 30 million U.S. businesses & executives, and over 220 million U.S. residents. Ideal for finding friends and relatives, market research, sales leads mailing lists, and more.  Funded by the Greater Largo Library Foundation.

Books & Authors (Gale)  Books & Authors offers new ways to explore the endless possibilities and combinations of books, authors, genres and topics. By leveraging our entire award-winning What Do I Read Next? collection, patrons and students alike can be sure that their next big read comes with a BIG recommendation.

Business Economics and Theory (Gale)  Provides academic journals and magazines focusing on topics in economics. Perfect for business classes, users will find more than 150 full-text journals to support their research.

Business Market Research Collection  Conduct company, industry, economic and geopolitical market research with information from these sources: Hoover's Company Profiles - more than 40,000 global public and non-public companies including location, financials, competitors, officers, etc.; OxResearch - succinct articles covering regional economic and political developments of significance from Oxford faculty members, other leading universities, and think-tanks;  Snapshots - market research overviews on 40+ industries and 40 countries. Coverage 1986-current.

ChiltonLibrary.com (Gale)  Photographs, diagnostics, repair procedures, OEM maintenance schedules, wiring diagrams, recalls and Technical Services Bulletins for automobiles and light trucks.

The Civil War : Sources in U.S. History Online (Gale)  Contains nearly 500 significant documents of the time--personal narratives, monographs, regimental histories, collected essays, sermons, songs, legal tracts, and political speeches--enabling students, faculty and patrons to study one of the key events in American history.

Communications and Mass Media Collection (Gale)  Provides current and accurate information from more than 100 journals focused on all aspects of the communications field. Key subjects covered include: advertising and public relations, literature and writing, linguistics, and many more.

Complementary & Alternative Medicine (Salem Health)  The online edition of the 4-volume set, Salem Health: Complementary & Alternative Medicine.  Provides authoritative, essential information on complementary and alternative medicine in easy-to-understand language.

Computer Database (Gale)
  Locate computer related product introductions as well as news and reviews on topics including hardware, software and communications.

Consumer Reports Magazine - Ask library staff for assistance.

Criminal Justice Collection (Gale)  Provides access to 150 journals useful to those studying to become a lawyer or law enforcement officer, paralegal, or for a career in Homeland Security.

 Culinary Arts Collection (Gale)  Includes 150 of the major cooking and nutrition magazines. Coverage includes thousands of searchable recipes, restaurant reviews, and industry information.

Custom Newspapers for Largo Public Library (Gale)
  Customized selection of newspapers for Largo Public Library.


DemographicsNow Library Edition (Gale)
  A comprehensive web-based solution offering up-to-date resources on demographics and extensive market level information for the state of Florida.


Diversity Studies Collection (Gale)
  This collection of 150 journals explores cultural differences, contributions and influences in our global community.


Educator's Reference Complete (Gale)  A selection of more than 450 full-text academic journals, hundreds of full-text reports, and many premier reference sources. The included content focuses on educational principles, child development and psychology, and best practices in education.

Environmental Studies and Policy Collection (Gale)
  Providing robust coverage of the field of environmental issues and policy, this collection includes nearly 200 journals, and provides access to multiple viewpoints including perspectives from the scientific community, governmental policy makers, as well as corporate interests.


Fine Arts and Music Collection (Gale)  With more than 100 full-text magazines and journals covered in databases such as the Wilson Art Index and RILM, this collection will provide students with resources to support research in areas such as drama, music, art history, and filmmaking.

Florida Database (Gale)
  Full Text journals with a focus on the State of Florida.


Florida Electronic Library  Select Internet resources that offer access to comprehensive, accurate, and reliable information. Available resources include electronic magazines, newspapers, almanacs, encyclopedias, and books, providing information on topics such as current events, education, business, technology, and health issues.

Fold3 History and Genealogy Archives
  Provides digital images of records preserved in the National Archives and other regional archives, including military records, naturalization documents, city directories and more.  In library use only.

Gardening, Landscape and Horticulture Collection (Gale)  
A collection of nearly 50 journals focused specifically on key issues in gardening, landscaping, and other areas of horticulture. Includes content relating to both the practical aspects as well as the scientific theory of horticulture studies

General Reference Center Gold (Gale)  Includes articles on current events, popular culture, and business and industry trends. Made up of a combination of newspapers, reference books, magazines, and trade publications.

General Science Collection (Gale)  A collection of over 1,000 peer-reviewed journals, providing researchers with the information needed to stay current on the latest scientific developments. 

Godfrey Memorial Library Scholar  Provides access to Godfrey Memorial Library's unique digitized content, including genealogical books, documents and records, 19th century US newspapers, and more.

Health and Wellness Resource Center (Gale)  Provides up-to-date reference material as well as full-text magazines, journals, and pamphlets from a wide variety of authoritative medical sources; as well as descriptions of and links to many pertinent websites.

HeritageQuest
  
Includes genealogical, local & family histories, serials, images & census records.


HistoryGeo.com
  
Find millions of historical landowners via the First Landowners Project interactive map, as well as over 4000 historical maps available in the Antique Maps Collection.

Home Improvement Collection (Gale)  Even the smallest home improvement project can be daunting: with this collection of nearly 100 home improvement focused titles, hobbyists and professional carpenters alike will immediately put their projects on a more solid foundation. Coverage includes such topics as architectural techniques, tool and material selection, zoning requirements, and many more.

Hospitality, Tourism and Leisure Collection (Gale)  Includes content from over 500 industry journals, and provides well-rounded coverage of both the historical and current state of affairs in the hospitality and tourism field, while also allowing for focused study of specialized aspects of the industry - including cultural aspects of travel, leisure activities, economic aspects of tourism, and more.

Informe Académico  Una colección de revistas hispánicas con textos completos. Abarca negocios, salud, tecnología, cultura, temas de actualidad y otras materias.

Infotrac Expanded Academic ASAP (Gale)  Provides access to scholarly journals, news magazines, and newspapers - many in full-text, covering all academic disciplines.

Infotrac General OneFile (Gale)  Includes news and periodical articles on a wide range of topics: business, computers, current events, economics, education, environmental issues, health, hobbies, humanities, law, literature and art, politics, science, social science, sports, and technology with many full-text articles.

Infotrac Student Edition (Gale)  Includes full-text magazines, newspapers and reference sources geared to high school students containing information on current events, the arts, science, popular culture, health, people, government, history, sports and more.

Kids InfoBits (Gale)  Developed especially for beginning researchers in Kindergarten through Grade 5 this resource includes full-text content from the best elementary reference sources and magazines and covers geography, current events, the arts, science, health, people, government, history, sports and more.

Legal Forms Library (Gale)  Access hundreds of free legal forms and forms specific to the state of Florida.  Categories include landlord/tenant, wills/estates, real estate, power of attorney, elder law, family law, and more. This database is only accessible by patrons holding Largo Public Library cards.

LitFinder (Gale)  Access to thousands of full-text poems, stories, essays, plays and speeches.

Military and Intelligence Database Collection (Gale)  Both the historian and reporter on the frontline will find useful information in this collection, composed of content from over 400 journals, which covers all aspects of the past and current state of military affairs. Key subjects covered include: socioeconomic effects of war, governmental policies, the structure of armed forces, and many more. 

Morningstar Investment Research Center  Detailed analyst guidance on thousands of stocks, mutual funds, and exchange-traded funds; as well as links to recommended stocks or funds and lists of fund or stock analyst reports. Note: This database is only accessible by patrons holding Largo Public Library cards.  Funded by the Greater Largo Library Foundation.

New York Times Online (Remote/Offsite Access) Locate articles and videos, opinion pieces, and the mini crossword from the New York Times.    

  • Use the access code:  32c37ee39fdf1728 and click "Redeem".  Register for an account, click "login" and then login to your account for your 1 day access; repeat the next time you access the site (enter access code, click "Redeem" & login to your account).  
  • In Library: New York Times Online (Onsite Access)  Use this link. Register for an account, click "login", and then login to your account.  
  • After you register for an account, content can also be accessed through the NYT app.

NewsBank  Read and search current and archived (back to 1987) online editions of the Tampa Bay Times (formerly St. Petersburg Times), as well as a selection of news magazines such as Newsweek, Parenting, Popular Science, and U.S. News & World Report.

Newspapers.com Library Edition: World Collection  Provides digital images of 3,000+ regional, local, and international newspapers from the early 1700s into the early 2000s. Search by keyword, or browse newspapers by location.  Articles may be printed or saved to your computer.

Novelist Plus (Ebsco)  Contains plot summaries and information on thousands of fiction, non-fiction, and audio books as well as author read-alike lists and book discussion guides.

Novelist K-8 Plus (Ebsco)  An online database with fiction and nonfiction titles specifically designed for elementary and middle school children. Includes recommended titles and more.

Nursing and Allied Health Collection (Gale)  Including nearly 400 titles, this collection's current and authoritative content will be of use to both professionals already working in the field as well as students pursuing a nursing-focused curriculum.

Popular Culture Collection (Gale)  Popular culture is all around us and influences our lives every day. This collection of over 100 full-text periodicals provides useful information for any researcher in a social science, history, art or liberal arts course. 

Popular Magazines (Gale)  This database is 100% full text and includes over 600 titles, including Consumer Reports, Time, National Geographic, The New Yorker, Newsweek, Vanity Fair, US News and World Report, Vogue, Fortune, Business Week, National Review, Cosmopolitan, NPR and more.

Professional Collection (Gale)  Collection of journals for today's professional, covering a wide range of careers, professions & industries.

Pronunciator  Pronunciator is an online language-learning system that can help you learn over 80 languages!  It includes ESL for speakers of 50 non-English languages.

Psychology Collection (Gale)  This collection gives individuals a basic understanding of the study of the mind, emotions and how the human mind develops -- and diminishes -- over time. Instant access to 200 subject-appropriate full-text periodicals. 

Religion and Philosophy Collection (Gale)  This collection of 250 subject-appropriate full-text periodicals, allows users to research different religions, philosophies, and how they impact our daily lives.

Research in Context (formerly Infotrac Junior Edition/Junior Reference Collection) (Gale)  Includes full-text magazines, newspapers and reference sources geared to middle school and junior high school kids containing information on current events, the arts, science, popular culture, health, people, government, history, sports and more.

Salem Health
   The online edition of the 4-volume set, Salem Health: Complementary & Alternative Medicine.  Pprovides authoritative, essential information on complementary and alternative medicine in easy-to-understand language.

Small Business Collection (Gale)  Perfect for business schools and entrepreneurs, this compilation provides insights, tips, strategies and success stories. Users will find 250 subject-appropriate full-text periodicals.

Small Business Resource Center (Gale)  Search this database to learn how to start, finance or manage your small business. Resources include sample business plans, how to guides, articles and websites.

Testing and Education Reference Center (Gale)  Search thousands of college and graduate school entries; identify scholarships that meet individual financial needs; take online prep tests. Note: This database is only accessible by patrons holding Largo Public Library cards. 

U.S. History Collection (Gale)  This collection of over 40 journals provides well-rounded coverage of both the current thinking and events in US History, as well as scholarly work being established in the field. 

Virtual Reference Library (Gale)  Includes encyclopedias and specialized reference sources across business, history, medicine, science, multicultural studies, and more.

Vocations and Careers Collection (Gale) Finding an appropriate institution of learning, job searching, and maintaining a career are all topics covered by this collection, providing current and applicable content for all vocational milestones. Offering content from nearly 400 journals, this collection provides content from general career guides to highly specialized industry journals.

War and Terrorism Collection (Gale)  Researchers will gain valuable insight to conflicts and their cause as well as their impact and how they are perceived on a global scale. References include 100 subject-appropriate full-text periodicals.

World History Collection (Gale)  This collection of over 40 journals provides well-rounded coverage of both the current thinking and events in World History, as well as scholarly work being established in the field.

Having trouble using our online databases? Make an appointment with Largo Public Library's Book-a-Librarian Service for one-on-one assistance with a library professional.