- The following databases are for high school and middle school students.
- For a list of all of the research databases click here.
- To learn more, view a brief instructional video.
Gale in Context: Middle School Explore the most-studied topics including cultures, government, people, history, literature, and more.
Gale OneFile: High School Edition Search magazines, journals, newspapers, and reference on a range of topics. Best for middle- and high-school students.
AtoZ World Food The world's largest database of global food culture and recipes. With thousands of international recipes, hundreds of fascinating culture and ingredient articles, and culinary resources, AtoZ World Food brings international cuisines to you, from Albanian byrek to Zimbabwean matemba!
Black Life in America The experience and impact of African Americans as recorded by the news media, from more than 19,000 American and global news sources, including over 400 current and historical Black publications.
Diversity Studies Collection (Gale) This collection of 150 journals explores cultural differences, contributions and influences in our global community.
Hispanic Life in America the experience and impact of Hispanic Americans as recorded by the news media, 1704 to today.
Novelist K-8 Plus An online database with fiction and nonfiction titles specifically designed for elementary and middle school children. Includes recommended titles and more.
Careers & Testing Databases:
Peterson's Test Prep (formerly Testing and Education Reference Center) Search thousands of college and graduate school entries; identify scholarships that meet individual financial needs; take online prep tests. Note: This database is only accessible by patrons holding Largo Public Library cards.
Vocations and Careers Collection (Gale) Finding an appropriate institution of learning, job searching, and maintaining a career are all topics covered by this collection, providing current and applicable content for all vocational milestones. Offering content from nearly 400 journals, this collection provides content from general career guides to highly specialized industry journals.
Lingo Lite Learn 260 terms in 30 languages through images, text, and native speaker video to help you learn vocabulary. This database is only accessible by patrons holding Largo Public Library cards.
Pronunciator Pronunciator is an online language-learning system that can help you learn over 100 languages! It includes ESL for speakers of 50 non-English languages.